Zero Clearance Inserts (ZCI)

Forum for people who are new to woodworking. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

dusty
Platinum Member

Zero Clearance Inserts (ZCI)

Post by dusty »

How popular are Zero Clearance Inserts?

We all use Table Inserts but how many of us use ZCI?

Of those who use ZCI, how many of us make our own?

http://www.shopsmith.com/ownersite/cata ... nserts.htm
"Making Sawdust Safely"
Dusty
Sent from my Dell XPS using Firefox.
fredsheldon
Platinum Member

Post by fredsheldon »

What is the advantage of a ZCI? I'm new to Shopsmiths so I don't have enough experience to realize the benefits of such items.
Fred Sheldon
The Woodlands, Tx
'52 10ER # 60869 (restored in 2012, used as a dedicated drill press), '52 10ER # 88712 (restored 01/2013), 52 10ER # 71368 (in process of restoring), '83 500 Shorty with OPR installed, '83 520 PowerPro with Lift Assist, 6" Joiner, 6" Belt Sander, 18" Jig Saw, 11" Band Saw, 12" ProPlaner, SS Crosscut Table. SS Dust Collector, Hitachi 1/2" router, Work Sharp 3000 with all attachement, Nova G3 Chuck, Universal Tool Rest, Appalachia Tool Works Sled.
claimdude
Gold Member

Post by claimdude »

dusty wrote:How popular are Zero Clearance Inserts?

We all use Table Inserts but how many of us use ZCI?

Of those who use ZCI, how many of us make our own?

http://www.shopsmith.com/ownersite/cata ... nserts.htm
I have made several of my own over the years but grabbed 3 of the phenolic inserts from Peachtree last year while they were on sale for $9.99 ea.

Jack
wa2crk
Platinum Member

Post by wa2crk »

Hi Dusty;
I use a ZCI about 80 to 90% of the time. I think that I only use the SS insert is when I make a bevel cut and need the extra clearance.
At Christmas time I make a bunch of doll cradles for the Toys for Tots program and the angle cuts (even though they are made at 90 deg) produce narrow triangular pieces that can get caught in the standard insert and I use ZCI's for these cuts.