Cutting circles on Bandsaw - need coaching

Forum for people who are new to woodworking. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

djscruggs
Gold Member

Cutting circles on Bandsaw - need coaching

Post by djscruggs »

SS Geniuses - I'm a newbie with my SS. I made a nifty little jig for cutting circles which works great on the much larger bandsaw at the school where i occasional take classes.

I put it on my SS bandsaw, and it did several things. First of all, it was very difficult going. I was going very slow, and yet I still had to apply pressure....it was not readily cutting on its own., Second, it started veering off the arc that I had drawn for myself, just go keep me confident. After only a couple of inches, applying more pressure than i felt comfortable with on the bandsaw, the blade popped off.

I tried several different times, attempting to pre-start the cut with a jig saw, same result.

I have noticed on this bandsaw that it does not seem to readily cut straight, but tends to cut at an angle. If i try to use a fence for a straight cut, I almost have to put the fense at an angle to the blade or if wants to bend slightly. I have seen tutorials about finding the "true Fence angle" on a band saw, but this does not seem to be an issue with other band saws I've used.

Clearly, this is a "user" issue:

1) could i be using a blade that is too small? (too many teeth per inch) in other words, does cuitting circles require a special size blade?

2) Do i need to do some kind of alignment (other than the general alignment instructions) to get the blade to run straight.

3) yes, i do have the blade tensioner turned to 1/4"

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance!
David
BuckeyeDennis
Platinum Member

Re: Cutting circles on Bandsaw - need coaching

Post by BuckeyeDennis »

Sounds like your blade may be dull. Is it new or used?
BuckeyeDennis
Platinum Member

Post by BuckeyeDennis »