Today in the shop (Be all that you can bee)

This is a forum for intermediate to advanced woodworkers. Show off your projects or share your ideas.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

reible
Platinum Member

Today in the shop (Be all that you can bee)

Post by reible »

Spring, just never enough time to get everything done that you want to.

In my archive I spotted a project that has sat way to long undone. It is a box for Mason Bee's. You can look them up but very quickly they are very early bee's which pollinate early flowers/fruit trees/etc. They are a safe bee in that you would have to grab one and start crushing it to have it sting.... They don't pay you much mind and just go about their work. Unlike other bees they do not make a nest or hive but rather look for 5/16" holes to call home.

There are a lot of ways to make places for them and if you do a search online you will find hundreds of projects like the one I'm doing. This is my first attempt at this so who knows how this will end up.

To start with you need a 5/16" drill bit. Some people go bigger and some smaller but I went along with the 5/16" crowd. I wanted to use a spade bit and my larger set has one that size. (Some day I need to make a storage system for those bits).

[ATTACH]21386[/ATTACH]

The spade bits are also a bit longer, note the twist drill to the left. That sound like a good thing for this project.

For the hole locations I came up with the idea of drilling one set then flipping the workpiece and doing a second set. More guess work here, it sounded good so I went with it. I used a center finder to set the height of the main table, in horizontal mode.

[ATTACH]21387[/ATTACH]