Introduction and 510 motor question

Forum for Maintenance and Repair topics. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

masonsailor2
Platinum Member

Introduction and 510 motor question

Post by masonsailor2 »

Hello all. Thought I would give an introduction before I post a question. I have been a woodworker most of my life (now 61 yrs old) and owned a high end mill and cabinet shop for about ten years and have been a registered nurse all my adult life thanks to the USN. During the mill and cabinet years I specialized in art grade cabinet work in the Carmel/Pebble beach area. In 2006 my wife and I finally got the kids through college, sold the ranch, bought a Mason 63 sailboat and left sailing. When we left I donated my heavy machinery to the wood shop at the yacht club and sold my trusted Mark V's. We used them primarily for the abrasives applications and drill presses. Well now we are back and its time to remodel the boat and therefore a new shop was in order. Outfitting a new shop has been an experience. Part of that was purchasing a very lightly used SS 510 which included a band saw, jointer and belt sander. Everything was in great shape, in fact almost new looking but had been sitting unused for several years so general maintenance was in order. I dropped the lower cowling/motor cover and the motor lowered down with it. Is that cowling/sheet metal the only thing holding up the motor? I thought the motor was attached to the main housing.
Paul
dusty
Platinum Member

Post by dusty »